World Heritage Sites List of UNESCO

Unfortunately, as human beings continue to develop technologically and mentally, we are destroying natural beauties and historical artifacts of the world. In order to provide a global protection above the natural beauties and the historical artifacts, UNESCO designated a list of the World Heritage Sites in 1978.  There established World Heritage Committee in order to bring the protection of the world artifacts in to the world agenda. The Committee aims to promote the universal values ​​of cultural and natural assets that are recognized as common heritage of all humanity, to establish the consciousness in society to preserve the universal heritage, and to establish the necessary cooperation between nations for the preservation of extinct cultural and natural values ​​that have been destroyed for various reasons.

There are 21 countries which are members of the World Heritage Committee. These countries are the United States of America, Australia, Bahrain, Barbados, Brazil, China, Morocco, South Korea, Spain, Israel, Sweden, Canada, Kenya, Cuba, Madagascar, Mauritius, Egypt, Niger, Peru, Tunisian and Jordan.

As of April 2017, there are 1052 world heritage sites from 193 countries, 814 of which are cultural, 203 are natural and 35 are mixed in the World Heritage List. The list is growing annually with the application of new candidates.

The first world heritage list was declared in 1978. In the first world heritage list L’Anse aux Meadows National History Site and Nahanni National Park in Canada, Historic Quito City and Galapagos Islands in Ecuador, Simen Mountains National Park and Mountain Carved Churches in Lalibela in Ethiopia, Aachen Cathedral in Germany, Historic City of Krakow and Wieliczka Salt Mine in Poland, Gorée Island in Senegal, Mesa Verde National Park and Yellowstone National Park in the USA took place.

Some of the world heritage may be removed from the list if they are hugely destroyed or if foreseen measures stated in the nomination file are not taken on time. World heritages which are candidates for removal from the list are considered as the inherited in danger. There are currently 31 world heritage sites in danger.

What's Your Reaction?

Cry Cry
Cute Cute
Damn Damn
Dislike Dislike
Lol Lol
Like Like
Love Love
Win Win

Comments 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

World Heritage Sites List of UNESCO

log in

Become a part of our community!

reset password

Back to
log in
Choose A Format
GIF format